Net bilateral aid flows from DAC donors, Iceland (current US$) - Country Ranking

Definition: Net bilateral aid flows from DAC donors are the net disbursements of official development assistance (ODA) or official aid from the members of the Development Assistance Committee (DAC). Net disbursements are gross disbursements of grants and loans minus repayments of principal on earlier loans. ODA consists of loans made on concessional terms (with a grant element of at least 25 percent, calculated at a rate of discount of 10 percent) and grants made to promote economic development and welfare in countries and territories in the DAC list of ODA recipients. Official aid refers to aid flows from official donors to countries and territories in part II of the DAC list of recipients: more advanced countries of Central and Eastern Europe, the countries of the former Soviet Union, and certain advanced developing countries and territories. Official aid is provided under terms and conditions similar to those for ODA. Part II of the DAC List was abolished in 2005. The collection of data on official aid and other resource flows to Part II countries ended with 2004 data. DAC members are Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States, and European Union Institutions. Regional aggregates include data for economies not specified elsewhere. World and income group totals include aid not allocated by country or region. Data are in current U.S. dollars.

Source: Development Assistance Committee of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Geographical Distribution of Financial Flows to Developing Countries, Development Co-operation Report, and International Development Statistics database. Data

See also: Thematic map, Time series comparison

Find indicator:
Rank Country Value Year
1 Malawi 4,590,000.00 2015
2 Uganda 3,380,000.00 2015
3 Mozambique 3,220,000.00 2015
4 Lebanon 1,140,000.00 2015
5 Syrian Arab Republic 1,000,000.00 2015
6 Sri Lanka 890,000.00 2009
7 Afghanistan 630,000.00 2015
8 Ethiopia 420,000.00 2015
9 Nepal 300,000.00 2015
9 Russia 300,000.00 1992
9 Ukraine 300,000.00 2015
12 Iraq 290,000.00 2007
13 Macedonia 220,000.00 2007
13 Kenya 220,000.00 2012
15 Sierra Leone 210,000.00 2014
16 Belarus 180,000.00 2015
17 Libya 150,000.00 2011
18 Belize 140,000.00 2009
18 Pakistan 140,000.00 2013
20 Somalia 130,000.00 2015
21 Guinea-Bissau 120,000.00 2015
21 Dem. Rep. Congo 120,000.00 2010
23 Cabo Verde 110,000.00 1999
23 Serbia 110,000.00 2015
23 Central African Republic 110,000.00 2014
26 Côte d'Ivoire 100,000.00 2011
26 Mali 100,000.00 2013
28 Namibia 80,000.00 2014
28 Yemen 80,000.00 2015
28 Nicaragua 80,000.00 2013
31 Haiti 70,000.00 2013
32 Timor-Leste 60,000.00 2001
32 Sudan 60,000.00 2011
32 South Africa 60,000.00 2015
35 Philippines 40,000.00 2015
36 Moldova 30,000.00 2009
36 The Gambia 30,000.00 2015
36 Jordan 30,000.00 2015
36 Albania 30,000.00 2009
40 Bosnia and Herzegovina 20,000.00 2012
40 India 20,000.00 2013
42 Togo 10,000.00 2015
43 Liberia 0.00 2011

More rankings: Africa | Asia | Central America & the Caribbean | Europe | Middle East | North America | Oceania | South America | World |

Limitations and Exceptions: Data exclude DAC members’ multilateral aid (contributions to the regular budgets of the multilateral institutions). However, projects executed by multilateral institutions or nongovernmental organizations on behalf of DAC members are classified as bilateral aid (since the donor country effectively controls the use of the funds) and are included in the data. Aid to unspecified economies is included in regional totals and, when possible, income group totals. Aid not allocated by country or region - including administrative costs, research on development, and aid to nongovernmental organizations - is included in the world total. Thus regional and income group totals do not sum to the world total.

Statistical Concept and Methodology: The Development Assistance Committee (DAC) of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) has 24 members - 23 individual economies and 1 multilateral institution (European Union institutions). Data are based on donor country reports of bilateral programs, which may differ from reports by recipient countries. Recipients may lack access to information on such aid expenditures as development-oriented research, stipends and tuition costs for aid-financed students in donor countries, and payment of experts hired by donor countries. Moreover, a full accounting would include donor country contributions to multilateral institutions, the flow of resources from multilateral institutions to recipient countries, and flows from countries that are not members of DAC. Some of the aid recipients are also aid donors. Development cooperation activities by non-DAC members have increased in recent years and in some cases surpass those of individual DAC members. Some non-DAC donors report their development cooperation activities to DAC on a voluntary basis, but many do not yet report their aid flows to DAC.

Aggregation method: Sum

Periodicity: Annual