IndexMundi Home
Flag of Philippines


Factbook > Countries










Transnational Issues



Republic of the Philippines
Republika ng Pilipinas(Filipino)[a]
"Maka-Diyos, Maka-Tao, Makakalikasan at Makabansa"[1]
"For God, People, Nature, and Country"
Anthem: Lupang Hinirang
Chosen Land
Great Seal
Seal of the Philippines.svg
Dakilang Sagisag ng Pilipinas  (Tagalog)
Great Seal of the Philippines
Location of the Philippines
14°35′N120°58′E / 14.583°N 120.967°E / 14.583; 120.967
Largest cityQuezon City
14°38′N121°02′E / 14.633°N 121.033°E / 14.633; 121.033
Official languages
Recognized regional languages
Optional languagesb
Ethnic groups(2010[3])

Filipino (masculine)
Filipina (feminine)

Pinoy (colloquial masculine)
Pinay (colloquial feminine)

Philippine (English)
GovernmentUnitarypresidentialconstitutional republic
Rodrigo Duterte
Leni Robredo
Aquilino Pimentel III
Pantaleon Alvarez
Maria Lourdes Sereno
House of Representatives
Formation of the republic e
June 12, 1898
December 10, 1898
January 21, 1899
March 24, 1934
May 14, 1935
July 4, 1946
February 2, 1987
• Total
300,000 km2 (120,000 sq mi) (72nd)
• Water (%)
0.61[5] (inland waters)
• Land
298,170 km2
115,120 sq mi
• 2015 census
100,981,437[6] (13th)
• Density
336.60/km2 (871.8/sq mi) (37th)
GDP (PPP)2017 estimate
• Total
$878.980 billion[7] (29th)
• Per capita
$8,223[7] (118th)
GDP (nominal)2017 estimate
• Total
$348.593 billion[7] (36th)
• Per capita
$3,280[7] (124th)
Gini (2012)43.0[8]
medium · 44th
HDI (2015)Increase 0.682[9]
medium · 116th
CurrencyPeso (Filipino: piso) (₱) (PHP)
Time zonePST(UTC+8)
• Summer (DST)
not observed (UTC+8)
Date format
  • mm-dd-yyyy
  • dd-mm-yyyy (AD)
Drives on theright[10]
Calling code+63
ISO 3166 codePH
  1. ^ While Manila proper is designated as the nation's capital, the whole of National Capital Region is designated as seat of government, hence the name of a region. This is because it has many government agencies, corporations or companies, and institutions aside from Malacanang Palace in the said capital city.[11]
  2. ^ The 1987 Philippine constitution specifies "Spanish and Arabic shall be promoted on a voluntary and optional basis."[12]
  3. ^ Philippine revolutionaries declared independence from Spain on June 12, 1898, but Spain ceded the islands to the United States for $20 million in the Treaty of Paris on December 10, 1898 which eventually led to the Philippine–American War.
  4. ^ The United States of America recognized the independence of the Philippines on July 4, 1946, through the Treaty of Manila.[13] This date was chosen because it corresponds to the U.S. Independence Day, which was observed in the Philippines as Independence Day until May 12, 1962, when PresidentDiosdado Macapagal issued Presidential Proclamation No. 28, shifting it to June 12, the date of Emilio Aguinaldo's proclamation.[14]
  5. ^ In accordance with article 11 of the Revolutionary Government Decree of June 23, 1898, the Malolos Congress selected a commission to draw up a draft constitution on September 17, 1898. The commission was composed of Hipólito Magsalin, Basilio Teodoro, José Albert, Joaquín González, Gregorio Araneta, Pablo Ocampo, Aguedo Velarde, Higinio Benitez, Tomás del Rosario, José Alejandrino, Alberto Barretto, José Ma. de la Viña, José Luna, Antonio Luna, Mariano Abella, Juan Manday, Felipe Calderón, Arsenio Cruz and Felipe Buencamino.[15] They were all wealthy and well educated.[16]

Source: CIA World Factbook
Unless otherwise noted, information in this page is accurate as of July 9, 2017

Home | About | Search | Site Map | Blog | Discussion Forums