Flag of Saint Helena

Saint Helena Profiel Gouvernement

Home > Saint Helena

name: Jamestown
geographic coordinates: 15 56 S, 5 43 W
time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
etymology: founded in 1659 and named after James, Duke of York, who would become King James II of England (r. 1785-1788)
Onafhankelijkheid dag
none (overseas territory of the UK)
Nationale feestdag
Birthday of Queen ELIZABETH II, third Monday in April (1926)
history: several previous; latest effective 1 September 2009 (St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Constitution Order, 2009)
18 jaar
uitvoerende macht
chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952)
head of government: Governor Philip RUSHBROOK (since 11 May 2019)
cabinet: Executive Council consists of the governor, 3 ex-officio officers, and 5 elected members of the Legislative Council
elections/appointments: none; the monarchy is hereditary; governor appointed by the monarch

note: the constitution order provides for an administrator for Ascension and Tristan da Cunha appointed by the governor

Referenties: CIA World Factbook - Tenzij anders vermeld, voor informatie op deze pagina correct is met ingang van 31 december 2019