Flag of Nauru

Nauru Government Profile 2019

Home > Factbook > Countries > Nauru

Country name
conventional long form: Republic of Nauru
conventional short form: Nauru
local long form: Republic of Nauru
local short form: Nauru
former: Pleasant Island
etymology: the island name may derive from the Nauruan word "anaoero" meaning "I go to the beach"
Government type
parliamentary republic
name: no official capital; government offices in the Yaren District
time difference: UTC+12 (17 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
Administrative divisions
14 districts; Aiwo, Anabar, Anetan, Anibare, Baitsi, Boe, Buada, Denigomodu, Ewa, Ijuw, Meneng, Nibok, Uaboe, Yaren
31 January 1968 (from the Australia-, NZ-, and UK-administered UN trusteeship)
National holiday
Independence Day, 31 January (1968)
history: effective 29 January 1968
amendments: proposed by Parliament; passage requires two-thirds majority vote of Parliament; amendments to constitutional articles, such as the republican form of government, protection of fundamental rights and freedoms, the structure and authorities of the executive and legislative branches, also requires two-thirds majority of votes in a referendum; amended 1968, 2009, 2014 (2018)
Legal system
International law organization participation
has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
20 years of age; universal and compulsory
Executive branch
chief of state: President Lionel AINGIMEA (since 27 August 2019); note - the president is both chief of state and head of government
head of government: President Lionel AINGIMEA (since 27 August 2019)
cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among members of Parliament
elections/appointments: president indirectly elected by Parliament (eligible for a second term); election last held on 27 August 2019 (next to be held in 2022)
election results: Lionel AINGIMEA elected president; Parliament vote - Lionel AINGIMEA (independent) 12, David ADEANG (Nauru First) 6
Legislative branch
description: unicameral parliament (19 seats; members directly elected in multi-seat constituencies by majority vote using the "Dowdall" counting system by which voters rank candidates on their ballots; members serve 3-year terms)
elections: last held on 24 August 2019 (next to be held in 2022)
election results: percent of vote - NA; seats - independent 19; composition - men 17, women 2, percent of women 10.5%
Judicial branch
highest courts: Supreme Court (consists of the chief justice and several justices); note - in late 2017, the Nauruan Government revoked the 1976 High Court Appeals Act, which had allowed appeals beyond the Nauruan Supreme Court, and in early 2018, the government formed its own appeals court
judge selection and term of office: judges appointed by the president to serve until age 65
subordinate courts: District Court, Family Court
Political parties and leaders
Democratic Party [Kennan ADEANG]
Nauru First (Naoero Amo) Party
Nauru Party (informal)

note: loose multiparty system

International organization participation
Diplomatic representation in the US
Ambassador Marlene Inemwin MOSES (since 13 March 2006)
chancery: 800 2nd Avenue, Suite 400 D, New York, NY 10017
telephone: [1] (212) 937-0074
FAX: [1] (212) 937-0079
Diplomatic representation from the US
chief of mission: the US does not have an embassy in Nauru; the US Ambassador to Fiji is accredited to Nauru
Flag description
blue with a narrow, horizontal, gold stripe across the center and a large white 12-pointed star below the stripe on the hoist side; blue stands for the Pacific Ocean, the star indicates the country's location in relation to the Equator (the gold stripe) and the 12 points symbolize the 12 original tribes of Nauru; the star's white color represents phosphate, the basis of the island's wealth
National symbol(s)
frigatebird, calophyllum flower; national colors: blue, yellow, white
National anthem
name: "Nauru Bwiema" (Song of Nauru)
lyrics/music: Margaret HENDRIE/Laurence Henry HICKS

note: adopted 1968

Source: CIA World Factbook
This page was last updated on December 7, 2019