Flag of Algérie

Algérie Profil Gouvernement

Accueil > Algérie

nom: Algiers
coordonnées géographiques: 36 45 N, 3 03 E
différence de temps: UTC+1 (6 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
etymology: name derives from the Arabic "al-Jazair" meaning "the islands" and refers to the four islands formerly off the coast but joined to the mainland since 1525
Fête de l'Indépendance
5 Juillet 1962 (from France)
Fête nationale
Jour De l'Indépendance, 5 Juillet (1962); Jour De Révolution, 1 Novembre (1954)
history: several previous; latest approved by referendum 23 Février 1989
amendments: proposed by the president of the republic or through the president with the support of three fourths of the members of both houses of Parliament in joint session; passage requires approval by both houses, approval by referendum, and promulgation by the president; the president can forego a referendum if the Constitutional Council determines the proposed amendment does not conflict with basic constitutional principles; articles including the republican form of government, the integrity and unity of the country, and fundamental citizens’ liberties and rights cannot be amended; amended several times, last in 2016 (2016)
Suffrage - Age minimum de l'électeur
18 ans; universal
Pouvoir exécutif
chef d'état (Président): Interim Président Abdelkader BENSALAH (depuis 9 April 2019); note - Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA resigned the presidency on 2 April 2019
chef de gouvernement (1er ministre): Prime Minister Noureddine BEDOUI (depuis 11 March 2019)
cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the president
elections/appointments: president directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in two rounds if needed for a 5-year term (2-term limit reinstated by constitutional amendment in February 2016); election last held on 17 April 2014 (next scheduled for 12 December 2019); prime minister nominated by the president after consultation with the majority party in Parliament

Source: CIA World Factbook - Version du décembre 31, 2019