Flag of Santo Tomé y Príncipe

Santo Tomé y Príncipe Perfil Gobierno 2017

Inicio > Santo Tomé y Príncipe

Capitalnombre: Sao Tome
coordenadas geográficas: 0 20 N, 6 44 E
diferencia de tiempo: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
División administrativa2 provinces; Principe, Sao Tome
Independencia12 Julio 1975 (from Portugal)
Feriado nacionalDía de la Independencia, 12 Julio (1975)
Constituciónapproved 5 Noviembre 1975; revisada several times, last in 2006 (2016)
Sufragio18 años de edad; universal
Poder Executivojefe de estado: Presidente Evaristo CARVALHO (desde 3 September 2016)
jefe de gobierno: Prime Minister Patrice Emery TROVOADA (desde 29 November 2014)
cabinet: Council of Ministers proposed by the prime minister, appointed by the president
elections/appointments: president directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held on 7 July 2016 and second round held on 7 August 2016 (next to be held in July 2021); prime minister chosen by the National Assembly and approved by the president
election results: Evaristo CARVALHO elected president; percent of vote - Evaristo CARVALHO (ADI) 49.8%, Manuel Pinto DA COSTA (independent) 24.8%, Maria DAS NEVES (MLSTP/PSD) 24.1%; note - first round results for CARVALHO were revised downward from just over 50%, prompting the 7 August runoff; however, on 1 August DA COSTA withdrew from the runoff, citing voting irregularities

Fuente: CIA World Factbook
A menos que sea indicado, toda la información en esta página es correcta hasta Julio 9, 2017