Flag of Islas Vírgenes Americanas

Islas Vírgenes Americanas Perfil Gobierno 2019

Inicio > Islas Vírgenes Americanas

nombre: Charlotte Amalie
coordenadas geográficas: 18 21 N, 64 56 W
diferencia de tiempo: UTC-4 (1 hour ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
División administrativa
none (territory of the US); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 3 islands at the second order; Saint Croix, Saint John, Saint Thomas
none (territory of the US)
Feriado nacional
Transfer Day (from Denmark to the US), 31 Marzo (1917)
history: 22 Julio 1954 - the Revised Organic Act of the Virgin Islands functions as a constitution for this US territory
amendments: revisada 1962, 2000 (2018)
18 años de edad; universal; note - island residents are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Poder Executivo
jefe de estado: Presidente Donald J. TRUMP (desde 20 January 2017); Vice Presidente Michael R. PENCE (desde 20 January 2017)
jefe de gobierno: Governor Albert BRYAN, Jr. (desde 7 January 2019), Lieutenant Governor Tregenza ROACH (desde 7 January 2019)
cabinet: Territorial Cabinet appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate
elections/appointments: president and vice president indirectly elected on the same ballot by an Electoral College of 'electors' chosen from each state; president and vice president serve a 4-year term (eligible for a second term); under the US Constitution, residents of the Virgin Islands do not vote in elections for US president and vice president; however, they may vote in the Democratic and Republican presidential primary elections; governor and lieutenant governor directly elected on the same ballot by absolute majority vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 4-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held on 6 November 2018 with a runoff on 20 November 2018 (next to be held in November 2022)
election results:

Albert BRYAN, Jr. elected governor in the second round; percent of vote in first round - Albert BRYAN, Jr. (Democratic Party) 38.1%, Kenneth MAPP (independent) 33.5%, Adlah "Foncie" DONASTORG, Jr. (independent) 16.5%, other 11.9%; percent of vote in second round- Albert BRYAN, Jr. (Democratic Party) 54.5%, Kenneth MAPP (independent) 45.2%, other .3%

Fuente: CIA World Factbook
A menos que sea indicado, toda la información en esta página es correcta hasta Diciembre 31, 2019