Flag of Portugal

Portugal Profil Regierung 2017

Homepage > Portugal

HauptstadtName: Lisbon
geographische Koordinaten: 38 43 N, 9 08 W
Zeitunterschied: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
Unabhängigkeit1143 (Kingdom of Portugal recognized); 5 Oktober 1910 (republic proclaimed)
NationalfeiertagPortugal Day (Dia de Portugal), 10 Juni (1580); note - also called Camoes Day, the day that revered national poet Luis de Camoes (1524-80) died
Konstitutionhistory: several previous; latest adopted 2 April 1976, effective 25 April 1976
amendments: proposed by the Assembly of the Republic; adoption requires two-thirds majority vote of Assembly members; amended several times, last in 2005 (2016)
Wahlrecht18 Jahre; universal
ExekutiveStaatsoberhaupt: Staatspräsident Marcelo REBELO DE SOUSA (seit dem 9 March 2016)
Regierungschef: Prime Minister Antonio Luis Santos da COSTA (seit dem 24 November 2015)
cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister
elections/appointments: president directly elected by absolute majority popular vote in 2 rounds if needed for a 5-year term (eligible for a second term); election last held on 24 January 2016 (next to be held in January 2021); following legislative elections last held in October 2015, the leader of the majority party or majority coalition was appointed prime minister by the president
election results: Marcelo REBELO DE SOUSA elected president; percent of vote - Marcelo REBELO DE SOUSA (PSD) 52%, Antonio Sampaio da NOVA (independent) 22.9%, Marisa MATISA (BE) 10.1%, Maria de BELEM (independent) 4.2%, other 10.8%
note: there is also a Council of State that acts as a consultative body to the president

Quelle: CIA World Factbook - Version März 31, 2017