Nepal Legislative branch

Factbook > Countries > Nepal > Government

Legislative branch: description: bicameral Federal Parliament (per the new constitution but not implemented as of March 2017) consists of the National Assembly (59 seats; 56 members, including at least 3 women, 1 Dalit, 1 member with disabilities, or 1 minority indirectly elected by an electoral college of state and municipal government leaders, and 3 members, including 1 woman nominated by the president of Nepal on the recommendation of the Government; members serve 6-year terms with renewal of one-third of the membership every 2 years) and the House of Representatives (275 seats; 165 members directly elected in single-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 110 members directly elected in a single nationwide constituency by party-list proportional representation vote; members serve 5-year terms)
elections: last held for the second Constituent Assembly on 19 November 2013 (first election for the Federal Parliament NA)
election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NC 196, CPN-UML 175, CPN-MC 80, Rastriya Prajatantra Party Nepal 24, Madhesi parties 35, NDP 13, Sadhavanna Party 6, CPN-ML 5, Federal Socialist Party 5, Nepal Workers and Peasanrs Party 4, other 32

Definition: This entry contains information on the structure (unicameral, bicameral, tricameral), formal name, number of seats, and term of office. Elections includes the nature of election process or accession to power, date of the last election, and date of the next election. Election results includes the percent of vote and/or number of seats held by each party in the last election.

Source: CIA World Factbook - This page was last updated on July 9, 2017

© 2017 IndexMundi. All rights reserved.