Flag of Gran Bretagna

Gran Bretagna Profilo Governo 2014

Inicio > Gran Bretagna

Capitalenome: London
coordinate geografiche: 51 30 N, 0 05 W
differenza di tempo: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
daylight saving time: +1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October
note: applies to the United Kingdom proper, not to its overseas dependencies or territories
Indipendenza12 Aprile 1927 (Royal and Parliamentary Titles Act establishes current name of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland); notable earlier dates: 927 (minor English kingdoms united); 3 Marzo 1284 (enactment of the Statute of Rhuddlan uniting England and Wales); 1536 (Act of Union formally incorporates England and Wales); 1 Maggio 1707 (Acts of Union formally unite England and Scotland as Great Britain); 1 Gennaio 1801 (Acts of Union formally unite Great Britain and Ireland as the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland); 6 Dicembre 1921 (Anglo-Irish Treaty formalizes partition of Ireland; six counties remain part of the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland)
Festa nazionalethe UK does not celebrate one particular national holiday
Costituzioneunwritten; partly statutes, partly common law and practice; note - recent additions include the Human Rights Act of 1998, the Constitutional Reform and Governance Act 2010, the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011, and the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011 (2011)
Suffragio18 anni; universal
Ramo esecutivocapo dello stato: Queen ELIZABETH II (da allora 6 February 1952); Heir Apparent Prince CHARLES (son of the queen, born 14 November 1948)
capo di governo: Prime Minister David CAMERON (da allora 11 May 2010)
cabinet: Cabinet of Ministers appointed by the prime minister
elections: the monarchy is hereditary; following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party or the leader of the majority coalition usually becomes the prime minister

Fonte: CIA World Factbook - Aggiornato a partire da Marzo 31, 2015