Flag of Pays-Bas

Pays-Bas - Gouvernement - Profil - 2004

Accueil > Pays-Bas


Amsterdam; The Hague is the seat of government

Fête de l'Indépendance

1579 (from Spain); note - the northern provinces of the Low Country concluded the Union of Utrecht, but it was not until 1648 that Spain recognized their independence

Fête nationale

Queen's Day (Birthday of Queen-Mother JULIANA in 1909 and accession to the throne of her oldest daughter BEATRIX in 1980), 30 Avril


adopted 1814; amended many times, last time 2002

Suffrage - Age minimum de l'électeur

18 ans; universal

Pouvoir exécutif

chef d'état (Président): Queen BEATRIX (depuis 30 April 1980); Heir Apparent WILLEM-ALEXANDER (born 27 April 1967), son of the monarch
chef de gouvernement (1er ministre): Prime Minister Jan Peter BALKENENDE (depuis 22 July 2002) and Deputy Prime Ministers Gerrit ZALM (depuis 27 May 2003) and Thom DE GRAAF (depuis 27 May 2003)
cabinet: Council of Ministers appointed by the monarch
elections: none; the monarchy is hereditary; following Second Chamber elections, the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the monarch; vice prime ministers appointed by the monarch
note: there is also a Council of State composed of the monarch, heir apparent, and councilors that provides consultations to the prime minister on legislative and administrative policy

Accueil | Infos | Recherche