Flag of Bhoutan

Bhoutan - Gouvernement - Profil - 2001

Accueil > Bhoutan



Fête de l'Indépendance

8 Aoüt 1949 (from India)

Fête nationale

National Day (Ugyen WANGCHUCK became first hereditary king), 17 Decembre (1907)


no written constitution or bill of rights; note - Bhutan uses 1953 Royal decree for the Constitution of the National Assembly; on 7 Juillet 1998, a Royal edict was ratified giving the National Assembly additional powers

Suffrage - Age minimum de l'électeur

each family has one vote in village-level elections

Pouvoir exécutif

chef d'état (Président): King Jigme Singye WANGCHUCK (depuis 24 July 1972)

chef de gouvernement (1er ministre): Chairman of the Council of Ministers Sangay NGEDUP (depuis NA 1999)

cabinet: Council of Ministers (Lhengye Shungtsog) nominated by the monarch, approved by the National Assembly; members serve fixed, five-year terms; note - there is also a Royal Advisory Council (Lodoi Tsokde), members nominated by the monarch

elections: none; the monarch is hereditary, but democratic reforms in July 1998 give the National Assembly authority to remove the monarch with two-thirds vote

Accueil | Infos | Recherche