Flag of Islas Marianas del Norte

Islas Marianas del Norte Perfil Gobierno 2014

Inicio > Islas Marianas del Norte

Capitalnombre: Saipan
coordenadas geográficas: 15 12 N, 145 45 E
diferencia de tiempo: UTC+10 (15 hours ahead of Washington, DC, during Standard Time)
División administrativanone (commonwealth in political union with the US); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are four municipalities at the second order: Northern Islands, Rota, Saipan, Tinian
Independencianone (commonwealth in political union with the US)
Feriado nacionalCommonwealth Day, 8 Enero (1978)
Constituciónpartially efectiva 1 Enero 1978 (Constitution of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands); fully efectiva 4 Noviembre 1986 (Covenant Agreement); modificada several times, last in 2012 (2012)
Sufragio18 años de edad; universal; note - indigenous inhabitants are US citizens but do not vote in US presidential elections
Poder Executivojefe de estado: Presidente Barack H. OBAMA (desde 20 January 2009); Vice Presidente Joseph R. BIDEN (desde 20 January 2009)
jefe de gobierno: Governor Eloy S. INOS (desde 20 February 2013); Lieutenant Governor Jude U. HOFSCHNEIDER (desde 20 February 2013)
cabinet: the cabinet consists of the heads of the 10 principal departments under the executive branch who are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate; other members include special assistants to the governor and office heads appointed by and reporting directly to the governor
elections: under the US Constitution, residents of unincorporated territories, such as the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, do not vote in elections for US president and vice president; however, they may vote in the Democratic and Republican party presidential primary elections; governor and lieutenant governor elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms (eligible for a second term); election last held on 7 November 2009 with a run-off election held on 23 November 2009 (next to be held in 2014)
election results: Benigno R. FITIAL reelected governor in a run-off election held 23 November 2009; percent of vote - Benigno R. FITIAL 51.4%, Heinz HOFSCHNEIDER 48.6%
note: Benigno R. FITIAL was impeached by House of Representatives on 11-12 February 2013 and resigned on 20 February 2013; Eloy INOS was sworn in as governor the same day

Fuente: CIA World Factbook
A menos que sea indicado, toda la información en esta página es correcta hasta Julio 6, 2015