Flag Nördliche Marianen

Nördliche Marianen Exekutive

Nördliche Marianen > Regierung

Exekutive: Staatsoberhaupt: Staatspräsident Barack H. OBAMA (seit dem 20 January 2009); Vice Staatspräsident Joseph R. BIDEN (seit dem 20 January 2009)
Regierungschef: Governor Eloy S. INOS (seit dem 20 February 2013); Lieutenant Governor Jude U. HOFSCHNEIDER (seit dem 20 February 2013)
cabinet: the cabinet consists of the heads of the 10 principal departments under the executive branch who are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate; other members include special assistants to the governor and office heads appointed by and reporting directly to the governor
elections: under the US Constitution, residents of unincorporated territories, such as the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, do not vote in elections for US president and vice president; however, they may vote in the Democratic and Republican party presidential primary elections; governor and lieutenant governor elected on the same ticket by popular vote for four-year terms (eligible for a second term); election last held on 7 November 2009 with a run-off election held on 23 November 2009 (next to be held in 2014)
election results: Benigno R. FITIAL reelected governor in a run-off election held 23 November 2009; percent of vote - Benigno R. FITIAL 51.4%, Heinz HOFSCHNEIDER 48.6%
note: Benigno R. FITIAL was impeached by House of Representatives on 11-12 February 2013 and resigned on 20 February 2013; Eloy INOS was sworn in as governor the same day

Quelle: CIA World Factbook - Version März 31, 2015

© 2015 IndexMundi. Alle Rechte vorbehalten